Skip to content

Detachment from the world

August 19, 2014
2014-08-04 14.42.07

A fitting poster near my apartment.

I’m starting to settle now (I think, it’s difficult to tell) and I realised today that although I knew what was going on in the world (politically, socially, legally and economically) I didn’t know it in the detail I previously would have done.

Ok. So not the end of the world right? I read the news less than 3 times a day now, I don’t get glued to my phone from stock market updates (I barely even use my phone now….I KNOW, REALLY!) and I no longer say to people ‘have you read that…’. The stopping or decrease of these things have significantly improved my social life but I worry it’s a slippery slope.

What if I wake up tomorrow and the first thing I do isn’t check the news? Am I addicted to seeing people around the world suffer? Should I be stopping anyway?

The answer is – I don’t know.

Keeping up to date for me has always been just that. I’m inquisitive, I like to know what’s happening and in a strange and twisted way – it makes me feel like I’m a part of something bigger. I feel sad when I read about Palestine; I want to help when someone mentions the Ebola virus and I get so annoyed when I learn how little the majority of people care about politics.

Is this normal when you move to another country and there isn’t your newspaper handed to you every morning and your daily conversations become language tests?

I always end my posts by expressing some way in which I am going to improve myself or attempt to influence something around me but this isn’t the same. I can’t force myself to be more interested. Politics is something I love and if I’m going through a phase where I don’t want to know the ins and outs of every story then that is something I have to accept.

Maybe not feeling ‘in the loop’ will pass, maybe it won’t.

Somehow, I get the feeling I’m not quite as settled as I thought I was when I started writing this!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2014 5:15 am

    I don’t know if it’s normal, but it’s been my experience too! I’ve felt very out of the loop current events wise since moving to Sweden – if it wasn’t for friends’ posts on social media half of the major events of the past couple of years would have passed me by! I can of course access media in English online, but for some reason I just don’t seem to have adopted the habit. I’ve kind of enjoyed this cocoon, but am feeling that it’s time to step back into the world!

Leave a Reply

