Skip to content

China’s ban on games consoles

January 28, 2013

Until I read this article on the guardian website (Article) I had no idea that games consoles such as the Xbox, Playstation and the Wii are banned in China.
Online gaming and gaming on phones is permitted.

Initially I found this difficult to believe but then I thought…is that a good idea? The amount of time I used to spend on my Xbox when I could have been doing something more useful is crazy; what makes it worse it that I then used to spend another hour reading articles and blogs about the game I had just been playing.

If China lifted this ban the shares of Microsoft (Xbox), Sony (Playstation) and Nintendo
(Wii) would soar, I think I might even decide to invest!

So is a ban on games consoles pragmatic and there to encourage children to study or is it simply a controlling policy there to oppress people? (I feel the word ‘oppress’ in relation to a games console exaggerates the point massively but its just after lunch and I am sleepy and can’t think of another word.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

